2018 Honors Convocation Recognizes Excellence

2018 Honors Convocation Recognizes Excellence

Honors Convocation
Wednesday, April 11, 2018
6:30 p.m.
St. Joseph Chapel, Holy Cross College

Honors Convocation is an annual celebration recognizing distinguished achievements at Holy Cross College.

The ceremony honors those students named to the Dean’s List during the spring 2017 and/or the fall 2017 semesters, as well as the Excellence in Teaching Award recipient, and four student Holy Cross Saints Award recipients. Graduating seniors who have earned a cumulative GPA of 3.3 or higher are also honored during the ceremony when they are formally presented with honor cords, to be worn during their May 2018 commencement exercises.

Students attaining academic honors, or the Dean’s List, are those fulltime students whom have earned a 3.5 semester GPA, or better. This year, over 300 Holy Cross students, freshman through senior status, will be recognized for their achievement.

Dr. David Lutz
Highly admired Holy Cross Professor and Dean of Faculty, Dr. David Lutz, will be presented with the Excellence in Teaching Award, while the 2018 Holy Cross Saints Student Awards will be presented to four students who exhibit excellence in the areas of academics, service, leadership, and character. Award recipients were nominated by students, faculty, or staff of Holy Cross, and selected by a committee comprised of various areas of the college.

Veronica Ramirez
Holy Cross College awards the St. Thomas Aquinas Award for Academic Excellence to the student who most clearly exhibits a clear record of academic excellence, a serious approach to scholarly endeavors, a sincere sense of intellectual curiosity and an authentic appreciation for the liberal arts. The 2018 recipient of The St. Thomas Aquinas Award is Veronica Ramirez from Bristol, Indiana. Veronica is a senior with a 3.784 GPA, majoring in Liberal Studies.

Colin Crawford
The St. Joseph Service Award is awarded to the Holy Cross student who most clearly exhibits a sincere dedication to serving others. The 2018 recipient of the St. Joseph’s Award is Colin Crawford, of South Bend, Indiana. Colin is a senior majoring in history, with a 3.699 GPA.

Tagin Schultheis
The college’s St. Sebastian Champions of Character Award is awarded to the student athlete who most clearly exhibits the characteristics associated with the highest purposes of athletic participation, those of overall character development. The 2018 recipient of the St. Sebastian Award is senior, Tagin Schultheis (Mishawaka, IN). Schultheis is majoring in business with a 3.467 grade point average.

George Sutherland
The All Saints Award for Excellence in Scholarship, Leadership, and Service is awarded to the student who most clearly exhibits the characteristics associated with the holistic educational mission of Holy Cross College. The 2018 Recipient of the All Saints Award is senior, George Sutherland of Applegate, Michigan. George is a senior at Holy Cross majoring in business, maintaining a 3.84 GPA.

2017 Academic Honors List