Home > News > Four Students to Receive Special Honors

Four Students to Receive Special Honors

Four Students to Receive Special Honors

When Holy Cross College holds its annual honors convocation March 26th, four students will be singled out to receive special honors for outstanding performance.

Neumann Jones will be awarded the 2010 St. Thomas Aquinas Award for Academic Excellence. This honor is bestowed on the student who most clearly exhibits a clear record of high achievement, a serious approach to scholarly endeavors, a sincere sense of intellectual curiosity, and an authentic appreciation for the liberal arts. "Neumann, a senior theology major, is the kind of student who enlightens everyone in the class, including the professor. He is a deep and compassionate thinker who brings thoughts and questions to a discussion that make everyone pause and reexamine their own positions," said Professor Mike Griffin.

Brian Burt will be awarded the 2010 St. Joseph Service Award as the student who most clearly exhibits a sincere dedication to serving others. After completing Professor Michael Griffin's Service Learning Experience this past fall, Brian has gone on to help teach the Service Learning Experience this semester and will be taking a group of Holy Cross students to Lancaster, KY over spring break to work with Habitat for Humanity. Outside of the classroom, Brian completed an internship at the local Habitat for Humanity ReStore in Mishawaka, which resells new and gently used building materials, appliances and furniture to the general public at discounted prices with all proceeds going to fund Habitat homes. Upon completing his internship, Brian continues to work part-time at the ReStore as an administrative assistant and volunteer coordinator. Brian is also serving as the Habitat for Humanity representative for this year's 2010 Rock the House student build, which is bringing together students from seven area high schools to build a new home in Mishawaka.

Jeff Byers of Northport, New York will receive the 2010 St. Sebastian Champions of Character Award for the student athlete who most clearly exhibits the characteristics associated with the highest purposes of athletic participation, those of overall character development. 

Diane Querciagrossa of Apple Valley, California will be receiving the 2010 All Saints Award for Excellence in Scholarship, Leadership, and Service. This award goes to the student who most clearly exhibits the characteristics associated with the holistic educational mission of Holy Cross College.

These four students will receive their awards publicly at the Academic Honors Convocation being held March 26, at 7:00 p.m., in the Driscoll Auditorium. Until then, the College congratulates these fine students and commends them for going above and beyond in the areas of academics, service, character, and leadership