Westville Education Initiative

Westville Education InitiativeAs an academic collaboration between Holy Cross College and the University of Notre Dame, WEI is jointly guided and overseen by faculty and administration from both institutions. Enrolled students earn college credits towards a Holy Cross College Associate of Arts (AA) degree and transition into a Bachelor of Arts (BA) degree program. Classes are taught by Holy Cross and University of Notre Dame faculty, and carry Holy Cross College credit.

The AA is the basis for many future academic and professional endeavors and is essential for anyone with the ambition to pursue a Bachelor of Arts degree at Holy Cross College or any other academic institution in the future. Students who complete the AA degree requirements have the option to seek admission to a Holy Cross BA program either at Westville Correctional Facility or, upon release, at the Holy Cross College main campus.

Holy Cross College was recently selected as one of 67 educational institutions in the country to participate in the U.S. Department of Education’s Second Chance Pell Program. The Second Chance Pell Program permits incarcerated students at Westville to be eligible for federal student aid while enrolled in a college degree program. Learn more at www.hcc-nd.edu/second-chance.

WEI photographs courtesy of Pete Mauney, Peter Ringenberg


alesha seroczynski phd
Alesha Seroczynski, Ph.D.
Director of College Operations

I moved into the position of WEI Director of College Operations after almost ten years of research and practice in juvenile justice. My background in both academic administration and community corrections make me uniquely suited to lead this young program. I am a voracious and expansive reader, and I enjoy promoting the liberal arts advantage among new and potential students at Westville Correctional Facility.

Westville Education Initiative
Holy Cross College Faculty

Louis Albarran
Jane Allen
Br. Jesus Alonso
Ed Gareau
Mike Griffin
Julie Kipp
John Raymer
Norman Runyon
Chris Stackowicz
Linda Thorpe Gordon
Bill Tourtillotte
Br. John Tryon
Br. Lawrence Unfried

Notre Dame Faculty

Peri Arnold
Nick Bonneau
Bill Carbonaro
Kirk Doran
Joel Duncan
Steve Fallon
Patrick Gamez
Dan Graff
Scott Jackson
Ricky Klee
Chris Kolda
Jeremy Mann
Kate Marshall
Bry Martin
Sheila McCarthy
Maria McKenna
Brian O’Conchubhair
Katherine Oswald
Arielle Phillips
Paolo Polzonetti
Pat Regan
Gabriel Said Reynolds
Jordan Rodgers
Valerie Sayers
Phil Sloan
Sarah Townsend
Eric Wawerczyk
Anna Woodard
Damian Zurro

We have also been privileged to welcome Visiting Professor Maud Ellmann, from the University of Chicago, during the Spring 2015 semester.

WEI in the News


WEI Partners

university of notre dameindiana department of correction