Category Archives: Office of the President

Office of the President

Welcome to Holy Cross College!

Father David Tyson, C.S.C.
On July 31, 2017, the Member Corporation of the Brothers of Holy Cross unanimously voted to appoint Father David Tyson, C.S.C., president of the college for a term of five years. Father Tyson brings a life-long association with the Congregation of Holy Cross and commitment to higher education in the Holy Cross tradition. He has served as a trustee of the college since 2014 and was named interim president of the college by the Board of Trustees in April 2017.

Prior to being named interim president of Holy Cross College, Father Tyson was the St. André Bessette Director of Nonprofit Professional Development at Mendoza College, University of Notre Dame. A member of the Notre Dame class of 1970, he previously served at the University in a variety of positions on the staff and faculty in the 1970s and 1980s. He joined the Mendoza College faculty after completing graduate studies where he served as an assistant and associate professor in the Department of Management. During that decade, he also served as executive assistant to the University president, Father Theodore Hesburgh, C.S.C., and as Vice President for Student Affairs.

In 1990, he was elected president of the University of Portland, a Holy Cross sister institution of Notre Dame. During his thirteen years at Portland, Father Tyson oversaw a major expansion of the campus, a tripling of its endowment, and improvement of the University’s regional and national standing. In 2003, he was elected the provincial superior of what was then called the Indiana Province of Holy Cross, the largest Holy Cross province in the world. He led the US Province until the end of his term in 2012. He was awarded an honorary Doctor of Laws degree from Notre Dame for his contributions to the University, the Congregation of Holy Cross, and Catholic higher education. That same year, the University of Portland awarded him its highest accolade, the Christus Magister Medal, for outstanding service to the University and Catholic higher education in the United States. Over these years, he served on a variety of different boards, including Notre Dame’s Board of Fellows and Board of Trustees, the Air Force’s Board of Visitors of Air University. He has also received the highest civilian award, the Outstanding Civilian Service Medal, from the Department of the Army in providing guidance and support for military education in the context of a University.

Holy Cross College Information

Holy Cross College is a Catholic, residential, coed, four-year institution of higher learning, offering an applied liberal arts curriculum. It was founded in 1966 and continues to be conducted by the Brothers of Holy Cross a society of lay religious men within the Congregation of Holy Cross (CSC) who take vows of poverty, celibacy and obedience as a way to more creatively and intimately serve the mission of our Savior Jesus Christ, His Body – the Church, and the needs of the world. Brothers of Holy Cross serve through ministries which educate and sensitize persons to the need of the world for justice and peace.

Board of Trustees

Holy Cross College Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is responsible for the oversight of the Holy Cross College and adopts rules, regulations,and policies governing the College.

It consists of members of the Congregation of Holy Cross as well as lay men and women committed to the College and its mission.

The Board has authority over curricular development, use of property, development of facilities, and fiscal and human resources management.

The Board meets on campus twice a year, allowing for communication among trustees, with the College president, administrative officers, faculty, staff, and students.



Mr. Thomas Ayers
Mrs. Kathy Malone Beeler
Mr. David P. Bender, Jr.
Mrs. Elizabeth Naquin Borger
Mr. Louis V. Carnesale
Sr. Amy L. Cavender, C.S.C.
Mr. Calvin Colbert
The Honorable David J. Dreyer
Br. William Dygert, C.S.C.
Mr. Daniel B. Fitzpatrick
Mr. Joshua Gentine
Mr. John Gschwind
Br. Kenneth Haders, C.S.C.
Dr. Gregory A. Hoffman
Br. Robert Lavelle, C.S.C.
Mrs. Lucille McKenna
Ms. Barbara O’Connor
Mr. Mark T. Pulte
Rev. Kevin M. Russeau, C.S.C.
Mr. Timothy Shea
Mr. Thomas C. Sopko
Br. Donald J. Stabrowski, C.S.C.
Ms. Kathleen Texido
Rev. David T. Tyson, C.S.C.

Mr. Robert F. Corrao
Mr. Arthur J. Decio
Mr. William Giles
Mr. Jerry Hammes
Mr. John R. Hardesty, Jr.
Mr. Jerry B. Love
Col. Brian Regan,USMC, (Ret.)
Mr. William Shannon, III