Holy Cross College is proud to announce the induction of 12 new members to the Delta Epsilon Sigma (DES) National Scholastic Honor Society. Congratulations, faculty inductee Professor Zhutian Zhang, M.S., and student inductees Matthew Brown’23, Carmela Cataldo’24, Billy Chilambula ’23, Sophia Di Piazza ’24, Steven Foernzler ’23, Kyle Kochanowski ’24, Nicholas Leslie ’24, Morgan Maggine ’24, Jacqueline Milkowski ’24, Blaise Morris ’23, and Thomas Zwiller ’24. Inductees will be honored on Wednesday, October 5, 2022, at 7:00 p.m. in Driscoll Auditorium. All are invited to attend.

DES is an honor society for students, faculty, and alumni of colleges and universities with a Catholic tradition. The organization started at the suggestion of Reverend E. A. Fitzgerald, Dean of Studies at Loras College, Dubuque, Iowa, who in October 1938 surveyed Catholic colleges and universities concerning their interest in initiating such a society.

Inductees of Holy Cross College’s Epsilon Delta Chapter are required to have completed at least one-half of the credit requirements for their bachelor’s degree and rank in the top twenty percent of their class in scholarship. Each year a faculty member speaks at the event and is then also inducted into the society. This year, Professor Zhutian Zhang, M.S., will present “Understanding Big Bang Cosmology in the Context of Creation.”

Professor Zhutian Zhang joined the faculty of Holy Cross College in August 2017. She received her B.A. in Applied Chemistry from Peking University, China, and completed her M.S. in Chemistry as a Ph.D. candidate at Case Western Reserve University. Professor Zhang’s research utilized statistical multivariate regression models to conduct structure-activity relationship studies in the areas of microbial toxicity and biodegradation. She published and presented her studies in “Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry” and “Chemosphere,” and at American Chemical Society national meetings.