Scholarships and Grants

Holy Cross Merit Scholarships and Need-Based Assistance
Federal Grants
Indiana Financial Aid
Tuition Exchange Program

Merit Scholarships and Need-Based Assistance Grants

Holy Cross College offers a number of merit scholarship opportunities. Every admitted student is reviewed for merit scholarship eligibility at the time of admission; unless stated otherwise, there is no additional application process for merit scholarship consideration. If eligible, admitted students are informed of their merit scholarship in their admissions notification.

Holy Cross College is committed to affordability by awarding need-based Holy Cross Assistance Grants to eligible students. To be considered for a Holy Cross Assistance Grant, students must submit the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). Undocumented students will receive consideration for need-based financial assistance from Holy Cross College.

Federal Grant

To be eligible for federal student, aid a student must be a citizen or eligible non-citizen of the United States with a valid social security number. In general, students must be degree seeking and be enrolled on at least a half-time basis. Additionally, students may not owe a refund on a federal student grant, nor be in default on a federal student loan. Eligibility for federal student aid programs is determined by the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA).

Pell Grants

The Federal Pell Grant is a need-based grant offered to eligible students. Pell Grants for the 2019-2020 academic year range from $623 to $6,195.

Federal Supplemental Education Opportunity Grant Program (FSEOG)

Federal SEO Grants assist students demonstrating exceptional financial need in accordance with guidelines and funding allocations established by the Department of Education and the Office of Financial Aid.


The TEACH Grant program is a non-need-based grant program that provides up to $4,000 per year to students who are enrolled in an eligible program and who agree to teach in a high-need field, at a low-income elementary or secondary school as a highly qualified teacher, for at least four years within eight years of completing the program for which the TEACH Grant is awarded. The student must sign a service agreement to this effect and complete all required counseling prior to receiving a TEACH Grant.

Indiana State Financial Aid

To be eligible for Indiana student aid, a student must be an Indiana resident. To be considered a resident of Indiana, a student must be domiciled in the state on or before December 31st of the year preceding application for an award and be continuously domiciled in the state thereafter. For a dependent student, the determination of residency status is based on the permanent place of residence of the applicant and the parent(s) of the applicant. For an independent student, the determination of residency status is based on the permanent place of residence of the applicant.

This table displays the average scholarship and grant package (not including Federal Direct Loans) an Indiana student entering Holy Cross College as a new student received for academic year 2018-2019, sorted by total family income (AGI) as reported on the FAFSA.

Indiana ranks fifth in the nation in the need-based grant aid per undergraduate student, making higher education more accessible and attainable for more Hoosiers. Indiana has two primary grant programs: The Frank O’Bannon Grant, Indiana’s primary need-based financial aid program, and the 21st Century Scholarship, Indiana’s early promise program where students sign up in middle school.

Frank O’Bannon Grant

The Frank O’Bannon Grant includes both the Higher Education Award and the Freedom of Choice Award. Eligibility for the grant is based on financial need as determined by the FAFSA. The grant may be used towards tuition and regularly assessed fees.

Indiana’s 21st Century Scholars

Indiana’s 7th and 8th grade students can apply for the 21st Century Scholars Program if their families meet the eligibility guidelines. Student not admitted into the Program can reapply the following year, but—with the exception of students in foster care—all students must apply by June 30 of their 8th grade year.

Tuition Exchange Program

Holy Cross College is a member of the Tuition Exchange. The Tuition Exchange provides a reciprocal scholarship exchange program for eligible dependents of full-time faculty and staff among its members of over 600 colleges and universities located in 46 states and the United Kingdom. The majority of participating colleges offer only full-time remission for undergraduate degrees. For more information, visit the Tuition Exchange website.

Information for prospective students who are interested in participating in the Tuition Exchange can be found here.