Holy Cross College is proud to announce the induction of 17 new members to the Delta Epsilon Sigma (DES) National Scholastic Honor Society. Congratulations, faculty inductee Professor Dennis Vandenberg, M.S., and 16 student inductees Jonathan Bachelor ’25, Alexandra Buchlmayer ’24, Hayden Carrasco ’25, Marcella Cloud ’25, Sarah Davis’25, Coleson Furlong ’25, Gabrielle Long ’24, Dillan Mori ’25, Maribelle Rivera ’25, Jordyn Smith ’25, Carly Spradling ’25, Michael Sprague ’24, Joseph Stokes ’25, Bradley Szotko ’25, Katherine West ’24, and Christina Young ’24. Inductees will be honored on Tuesday, October 10, 2023, 7:00 p.m. in Driscoll Auditorium. All are invited to attend.

DES is an honor society for students, faculty, and alumni of colleges and universities with a Catholic tradition. The organization started at the suggestion of Reverend E. A. Fitzgerald, Dean of Studies at Loras College, Dubuque, Iowa, who in October 1938 surveyed Catholic colleges and universities concerning their interest in initiating such a society.

Inductees of Holy Cross College’s Epsilon Delta Chapter are required to have completed at least one-half of the credit requirements for their bachelor’s degree and rank in the top twenty percent of their class in scholarship. Each year a faculty member speaks at the event and is then also inducted into the society. This year, Professor Dennis Vandenberg, M.S., will present “Is Quantum Cryptography the Key to Future Security?”

Professor Dennis Vandenberg joined the faculty of Holy Cross College in August 2015. He received a B.S. from Central Michigan University, a Masters in Systems Technology from the U.S. Naval Postgraduate School, and both a B.S. and M.S. in Applied Mathematics and Computer Science from Indiana University. He retired from the US Navy at the rank of Commander, after 20 years as a Cryptologic Officer working in communications and signal processing. His teaching ranges from Calculus to Cryptography and Cyber Security.